2014 Charity Golf Day

With a record breaking 24 teams taking part in this year’s 4th annual GIMA Charity Golf Day, everyone was hoping for the sun to shine. Unfortunately, the complete opposite happened, the heaven’s opened and it poured all afternoon. But that didn’t seem to dampen anyone’s spirits as all the teams completed the course in time to enjoy a quick drink in the bar and then relax for a dinner and an evening of entertainment and fundraising for two great charities.

The hot topic of the day was whether Mr Fothergill’s Seeds would retain their trophy for the third year on the trot. This year they had to be content with coming 4th as the victors on the day were the Haws Watering Cans team of Steve Riley, Graham Bocksidge, Cliff Bowers & Ron Craik.

The usual nearest the pin, longest and straightest drive competitions were hotly contested, however, the rain washed away any results so the winners had to be content in the knowledge they had won.

Raising money was the name of the game, and this year’s benefiting charities where Greenfingers and Thrive. Both charities were in attendance throughout the day, and Greenfingers entered a ladies team kindly sponsored by Briers.

The evening was rounded off with a dinner with entertainment provided by the excellent Duncan McKenzie of Nottingham Forest, Leeds and Everton fame. His stories of his time with Sir Alf Ramsey and Brian Clough had everyone in stitches.

Thanks to everyone who attended, and also thanks to the generous sponsorship provided by the following companies:

Forest Garden Woodlodge Vitax Hartman Outback Bord Na Mona Smart Solar Brother UK Westland Gardman Suttons Seeds The HTA The Scotts Miracle Grow Co. William Sinclairs STAX FCL Global Qhotels Conference Call Bestwick Associates Briers.

GIMA Charity Golf Day Results

Position Team Score
1st Haws Watering Cans:Steve Riley, Graham Blocksidge, Ron Craik, Cliff Bowers 81
2nd Boughton Loam:Simon Hedley, Simon Lewis, Gerard Smith, Gary Kenyon 80
3rd Westland A:Phil Harrison, Sean Bate, James Mitchell, Pete Bunker 78
4th Mr Fothergill’s Seeds:Richard Keegan, Paul Howard, Wayne Gaish, Chris Owen 75
Booby Prize
Smart Solar A:Jonathan Stobart, Paul Knott, Scott McCabe, Nigel Wallis 23

Beat the Pro

Ian Richardson; Terry Rogers; Richard Newton; Philip Hards; Claire Painter; James Parr; Neil Pope; Maison McGeechan; Stuart Miller; James Mitchell; Wayne Gaish; Phil Hatfield; James Sommerscales; Phil Harrison; Mark Dedman; David Gibbons; Paul Taylor